All Bengal  Council – ABPC, a Registered Society, was formed on 11th January 1987 at a conference of affiliated non-government colleges under different universities of West Bengal. The conference was held in the historic Darbhanga Hall of Calcutta University. Principal Kartick Deuti was elected first President of ABPC, Principal Subhankar Chakraborty was elected the founder General Secretary of ABPC and Principal Birendra Kumar Bandopadhyay was the first Treasurer. The first Annual General Meeting was held in 1988 at Bangabasi College of Commerce (presently Acharya Girish Chandra Bose College) and the Constitution of All Bengal Council – abbreviated ABPC, was adopted there.


ABPC is the only organization of affiliated non-government general degree colleges including B.Ed colleges and professional colleges like Law colleges. ABPC is a purely non-political mass organization of  with the dual objective of bringing positive change in the academic scenario of West Bengal, especially in the field of under-graduate education, and of solving institutional/professional problems of  and teachers alike by sharing of ideas with peers as well as by taking up critical matters with the State Government and with the university authorities.


All through its journey for over two decades, ABPC has faced various challenges but through united and collective effort the organization has overcome most of these challenges. The ’ Council has always fought for truth and justice not only for but for teachers, students, and society as a whole. The Council can boast of achieving through continuous dialogues with the government some long-standing professional demands like carrying forward of leave at credit, encashment of Earned Leave, uniform leave rule and so on.


The most notable achievement of the Council in the recent past is the recognition of the organization by UGC. It is a matter of pride that of all the various organizations of spread all over India, UGC invited ABPC to present before the Expert Committee its views regarding the formulation of UGC Regulation, 2009. This was done by ABPC leadership on 9th November 2009. Acknowledging that there is merit in the points raised by ABPC, the Expert Committee has agreed to recommend the same for consideration by MHRD.


ABPC is the apex body of seven (7) university committees, viz. Burdwan University Committee, Calcutta University Committee, Gour Banga University Committee, Kalyani University Committee, North Bengal University Committee, Vidyasagar University Committee and West Bengal State University Committee


ABPC tries to keep in touch with all democratic organizations of and teachers at the state as well as at the national level. ABPC stresses the importance of sharing ideas for achieving quality and excellence in higher education and of bringing higher education within the reach of every eligible youth at every corner of India – irrespective of caste, creed, and religion. ABPC encourages whole-hearted dedication to quality teaching and serving the society with a missionary zeal. ABPC believes that all professional problems can be solved through dialogues and democratic movements befitting its community.